The OLA Experience


We Delhites often look out for a cab ride to almost any destination in and around Delhi. But when we start our search for the economical efficient Cab company that offers in time smooth travel at the minimum rate, we often tend to get annoyed. Rates are exorbitantly asked for.

But, day before yesterday(8th June) I found a gem of a cab company that impressed me so much that I had to write a review for it.

Travel date & time: 9th June, 2014 | 8:30AM
Travel Journey: Jhilmil Colony to IGI Domestic Airport, T1 terminal.

Travel Distance: 27km(approx)

The bookings were done the previous night of the journey. I didnot happen to travel but the booking was made for my brother.

First call went down to my local taxi man who asked for a flat 700 bucks(with AC). I said, “Okay, I will get back to you in 5 mins”.

Next call went to Mango Cabs which offers rates as low as Rs.10/km which is a fab deal to get but the disappointment is that these people never confirm your booking until the penultimate hour of the travel. This can give one nightmares if at the final moment they don’t confirm your booking.

Meru cab, Easy cab went out of our budget b’coz they charge Rs. 69 for first 3km and Rs. 23/km onwards which made the bill shoot upto 621.

Meru cab

Surprisingly, I had this another cab company number named OLA Cabs whom i never tried earlier. So, I gave it a shot. As soon as I called up, I heard they have their own app on all the iOS, Android & Windows platforms. On speaking with the guy, he told me that I would get a confirmed booking right away. So i confirmed a booking with them at Rs. 542 (Rates: Rs. 200 for the first 8km and Rs. 18/km onwards).

So on cofirming the booking, I immediately tried their app on my iPhone. Their registration process is smooth and the interface is simply lovely and user friendly. There I noticed their tariff card which had rates for 2 types of cars – Mini & Sedan.

What I was offered over phone was the sedan rates but on seeing the Mini rates, I immediately cancelled my sedan booking for the Mini. Rates were Rs. 150 for first 6kms and Rs. 14/km further onwards. On calculating, this made my bill shot down to Rs. 444 which was by far the best deal of all that I got.

These companies which now offer application bookings have attractive offers for the consumers. They had a referral programme which gives Rs. 100 OLA money if your referred person makes his first travel. So I immediately asked my brother to install the android app on his HTC One. Got him his mini booking right away on the app along with my referral code – “K75KDP”.

The next morning the driver arrived well on time in the company’s Swift Dzire which much looks like a sedan. The ride was pretty smooth and yes with Air Conditioning. Note: All OLA cabs are air conditioned. On completing the journey, my brother was billed 458 for the 27.3 Km distance that included 15 mins waiting time. Rs. 13 more than originally calulated. The deal really impressed him so was I.

ola

Yes, auto rickshaw ride would have costed me much less upto 250 but hearing the Grrrrrr sound of the auto for 27kms in the Delhi heat of 45 degrees can be disastrous.

Also, the Airport metro would have been even more cheaper but it involved 5 change overs which can suck out your juices.

So, Hence the OLA experience has been amazing and now that I have 100 OLA money in my account, I’m looking forward for my 1st ride. Recommed all  travellers who are looking for valur for money deal to opt for this service. If this post made you to opt this service, you can refer me(“K75KDP”) and simultaneously earn OLA money together which will even reduce our cost for later travel.

Would love to hear your feedback on this post or any other service that you have tried which turned to be more economical than this.

Leave a comment